press releases

Arkansas Commissioner Kimberly A. O'Guinn Appointed to NARUC Board of Directors

View as PDF
For Immediate Release:

Contact: Regina Davis, 202-898-9382,

Arkansas Commissioner Kimberly A. O'Guinn Appointed to NARUC Board of Directors

Washington (October 22, 2019) —Commissioner Kimberly A. O'Guinn of the Arkansas Public Service Commission was appointed to the National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners Board of Directors by NARUC President and Iowa Utilities Board Member Nick Wagner.

O’Guinn has served on the Arkansas PSC since November 2016, when she was appointed by Governor Asa Hutchinson. She served previously as the director of communications for the Arkansas Department of Environmental Quality and was also an engineer in the ADEQ’s Office of Air Quality for 16 years.

An active member of NARUC, O’Guinn serves on several committees, including the Committee on Energy Resources and the Environment, the Washington Action Program and the Committee on International Relations. Also, she is president of Southwest Power Pool’s Regional State Committee, co-chair of the National Utilities Diversity Council and serves on the Financial Research Institute Board and on the Center for Public Utilities Advisory Council.

She received a Bachelor of Science in Environmental Engineering from the University of Oklahoma. She was an Engineering Fellowship Recipient with the National Aeronautics and Space Administration's NASA Space Grant Consortium/NASA Established Program to Stimulate Competitive Research.

“I am grateful to President Wagner for providing me an opportunity to serve NARUC as a member of the Board of Directors,” said O’Guinn. “NARUC is an invaluable resource and an instrumental voice for utility commissions. I look forward to continuing my support of NARUC and its mission in this capacity.”

“Commissioner O’Guinn brings a wealth of knowledge, strategic skills and dynamic experience,” said Wagner. “We are looking forward to her positive and constructive contributions to the board.”  

The NARUC Board of Directors consists of the president, the first vice president, the second vice president, the treasurer, each past president who is an active member and 20 other active members representing state commissions. O’Guinn’s term on the board.


About NRRI

The National Regulatory Research Institute was founded in 1976 by the National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners. NRRI serves as a research arm to NARUC and its members, the utility regulatory commissions of the fifty states and the District of Columbia in the United States. NRRI’s primary mission is to produce and disseminate relevant and applicable research for NARUC members.


NARUC is a non-profit organization founded in 1889 whose members include the governmental agencies that are engaged in the regulation of utilities and carriers in the fifty States, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands. NARUC's member agencies regulate telecommunications, energy, and water utilities. NARUC represents the interests of State public utility commissions before the three branches of the Federal government.