press releases

DC Commissioner Greer Gillis Appointed as Co-Vice Chair of NARUC Committee on Gas

View as PDF
For Immediate Release:

Contact: Scott Bolden, 202-898-8083,

DC Commissioner Greer Gillis Appointed as Co-Vice Chair of NARUC Committee on Gas 

WASHINGTON (December 6, 2019) — National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners President Brandon Presley of Mississippi has appointed Commissioner Greer J. Gillis of the DC Public Service Commission as co- vice chair of the Committee on Gas. Gillis joins fellow co-vice chair Julie Fedorchak of the North Dakota Public Service Commission and Commissioner Diane Burman of the New York State Public Service Commission, who chairs the committee. The Gas Committee fosters awareness and understanding of issues affecting the transportation, distribution and sale of natural gas safely, efficiently and economically.

In addition to the Committee on Gas, Gillis is a member of the NARUC Committee on International Relations. She is a senior professional engineer and experienced administrator and organizational leader with more than 20 years of experience in both the public and private sectors.

Commissioner Gillis served as the director for the District of Columbia Department of General Services. In this role, she oversaw the agency responsible for managing capital improvement and construction programs for a variety of District government agencies, including DC Public Schools, as well as sustainability initiatives across the agency’s efforts, specifically championing building energy performance standards for the government portfolio and implementing agreements to reduce greenhouse gases through efforts on installing green roofs and solar installations across government buildings.

Prior to her role at DGS, Gillis served as the deputy director and deputy chief engineer, respectively, for the District of Columbia Department of Transportation. In this role, she oversaw infrastructure projects pertaining to the Anacostia Waterfront Initiative program, Stormwater Management Branch, Safety Standards and Quality Control Division, ITS Division and Citywide Special Projects. She is a certified professional engineer in Washington, D.C., and Virginia and is a certified Lean Six Sigma Black Belt.

“We are fortunate to have someone with Commissioner Gillis’ knowledge and experience,” said Presley. “Her energetic leadership on this Committee is important to the cause of strengthening effective public regulation and serving the public interest.”

“It is truly an honor to co-chair the Committee on Gas, and I thank President Presley for this opportunity,” Gillis said. “I look forward to continuing the work of actively engaging federal agencies and stakeholder groups on matters of critical importance to state regulators.”

In 2014, Gillis was honored by President Obama and U.S. Secretary of Transportation Anthony Foxx as a White House Champion of Change: Transportation Ladders of Opportunity. She was honored for her efforts in diversity, including the mentoring of and championing the participation of women and minorities in the engineering industry. Throughout her career, she has served as a role model and advocate for building a diverse transportation workforce.

NARUC’s eight standing committees propose resolutions that, if approved by the Board of Directors, set Association policy on congressional, federal and industry matters. The committees, populated by state public service commissioners, also hold educational sessions and panel discussions on relevant issues to best serve NARUC members. Committee chairs are appointed by the NARUC president for a one-year term and may be reappointed for a maximum of three consecutive terms.



NARUC is a non-profit organization founded in 1889 whose members include the governmental agencies that are engaged in the regulation of utilities and carriers in the fifty States, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands. NARUC's member agencies regulate telecommunications, energy, and water utilities. NARUC represents the interests of State public utility commissions before the three branches of the Federal government.