press releases

FERC Appoints New State Members to Joint Task Force on Electric Transmission

View as PDF
For Immediate Release:

Contact: Regina Davis, 202-898-9382,

Commissioners Added to Fill Vacancies by Departing Mid-Atlantic Region Representatives

WASHINGTON (May 22, 2023) — At its May 18 public meeting, the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission appointed nominees submitted by the National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners to the Joint Federal-State Task Force on Electric Transmission. The Task Force focuses on topics related to planning and paying for transmission, including transmission to facilitate generator interconnection, that provides benefits from a federal and state perspective.

President Joseph L. Fiordaliso of the New Jersey Board of Public Utilities and Commissioner John B. Howard of the New York Public Service Commission will replace Chairman Jason Stanek of the Maryland Public Service Commission, and Chairman Gladys Brown Dutrieuille of the Pennsylvania Public Utility Commission, who both resigned from the Task Force effective May 1, 2023.

Both Stanek and Dutrieuille represented the Mid-Atlantic Conference of Regulatory Utilities Commissioners, and the new members will serve the remainder of their predecessors’ one-year terms, which expire on August 31, 2023.

In addition, Stanek served as the state co-chair of Task Force. With his departure, Commissioner Kimberly Duffley of the North Carolina Utilities Commission will assume that role.

“We are pleased that FERC has endorsed our nominations by making these necessary appointments to fill the void for MACRUC,” said NARUC President Michael A. Caron of the Connecticut Public Utilities Regulatory Authority. “On behalf of the Association, we are grateful for the contributions of Commissioners Stanek and Dutrieuille.”

The Task Force was established by FERC on June 17, 2021, and is comprised of all FERC Commissioners, as well as representatives from 10 state commissions, with two members from each NARUC region. The next meeting of the Task Force will be held on July 16, 2023, in Austin, Texas.

Go to to read the official order from FERC noting the new appointments.



NARUC is a non-profit organization founded in 1889 whose members include the governmental agencies that are engaged in the regulation of utilities and carriers in the fifty states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands. NARUC’s member agencies regulate telecommunications, energy, and water utilities. NARUC represents the interests of state public utility commissions before the three branches of the federal government.