press releases

Missouri PSC Commissioner Hall Appointed to NARUC Board of Directors

View as PDF
For Immediate Release: January 9, 2019

Contact: Regina Davis, 202-898-9382,

Missouri PSC Commissioner Hall Appointed to NARUC Board of Directors

WASHINGTON—Commissioner Daniel Yves Hall of the Missouri Public Service Commission was appointed to the National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners Board of Directors by President Nick Wagner of the Iowa Utilities Board.

Hall was appointed to the Missouri Public Service Commission on September 27, 2013, by Governor Jay Nixon and was unanimously confirmed by the Missouri State Senate in January 2014.  He served as chairman from August 10, 2015 to September 14, 2018.  He is the 101st PSC Commissioner in the 100-year history of the PSC, which is Missouri’s oldest state agency.

Other relevant experience includes serving as Legislative Director to Governor Jay Nixon, Senior Counsel and Assistant Attorney General in the Office of Missouri Attorney General Jay Nixon, Assistant Commissioner for Policy in the Office of Administration and Senior Policy Advisor to Governor Bob Holden, Chief of Staff to Missouri House Speaker Steve Gaw, private practice as an associate with Bryan Cave, LLP and law clerk to United States District Court Judge Dean Whipple. 

Hall holds a Juris Doctorate from the University of Missouri School of Law and a Bachelor of Arts degree from Carleton College in Northfield, Minnesota, with a major in history and a minor in political economy.

Hall serves as Vice Chair on NARUC’s Committee on Water and the Subcommittee on Education and Research and is a member of the Washington Action Program.

“I am grateful to President Wagner for the opportunity to serve on NARUC’s Board of Directors,” said Hall. “It is a talented and diverse team of commissioners focused on improving the quality and effectiveness of public utility regulation, and I look forward to lending my voice to this cause.”

“Commissioner Hall will be an asset to the NARUC Board of Directors,” said Wagner. “His years of solid government leadership, combined with his engagement on NARUC Committees, will provide the insight and contributions that we are looking for.

The NARUC Board of Directors consists of the president, the first vice president, the second vice president, the treasurer, each past president who is an active member and 20 other active members representing state commissions. Hall’s term on the board expires October 31, 2022, but he may be reappointed by NARUC’s Executive Committee.




NARUC is a non-profit organization founded in 1889 whose members include the governmental agencies that are engaged in the regulation of utilities and carriers in the fifty States, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands. NARUC's member agencies regulate telecommunications, energy, and water utilities. NARUC represents the interests of State public utility commissions before the three branches of the Federal government.